i've got the cure for you


Rock rock, CHA CHA CHA
January 22, 2011, 4:20 pm
Filed under: i don't know where to put this | Tags: , , ,

Last night was my second ballroom class with my boyfriend, and I have to say, although I was kind of skeptical at first, I’m certainly starting to enjoy it. I don’t have much of a dancing background other than ballet when I was younger so the “rock rock, cha cha cha” was very foreign to me. Normally there is an excess of girls with a shortage of guys in dance classes that require partners but last night’s class was the complete opposite. It’s nice to see the guys come out to learn how to sway those hips. Obviously the first lesson was very repetitive trying to get the very core basics down but last night the instructor, Peter Djakovic, decided to play some salsa music to a short combination we just learned… and it all makes sense.

I love how Peter teaches us spotting to make simple steps look sharp and good!

My boyfriend and I have definitely decided together that we would want to continue this further. (Student discounted prices gave us more of an incentive to do it right on campus. Plus I just study at Trinity, Gerstein, Laidlaw and walk right over!) I know that the U of T’s Athletic Centre also offers a Ballroom I class but they only offer one class at an inconvenient time. The class that we are taking is at Hart House and three Ballroom I classes are offered which are taught by three different instructors. If you’re a U of T student and interested in Ballroom, I highly recommend you sign up before the end of this week! The cost is definitely cheaper if you’re a student so make use of that Tcard but registration is still open to public!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

